Arizona Technology Council adds three new Board members, MarCom director

board members

The Arizona Technology Council elected three board members, added an executive committee member and announced its new director of marketing and communications at the Council’s quarterly board meeting on July 29.

The Council is one of the largest tech trade associations in North America and the “board and staff are instrumental in executing strategies and tactics that connect, empower and engage its members.”

Bianca Buliga is the Council’s new director of marketing and communications. She is a Phoenix native, and a trilingual, first-generation American of Romanian ethnicity. Prior to joining the Council, she spent a year and a half as the marketing communications lead at Proctorio. Buliga also worked at SEED SPOT as the senior marketing manager. 

Last January, she traveled to the African island of Mauritius to run an entrepreneurship program on behalf of the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Buliga has worked on projects for IBM and the Peruvian government, and interned with the Arizona House of Representatives and the U.S. Embassy in Romania.

“I’m delighted to welcome Bianca Buliga as our new director of marketing and communications,” said Steven G. Zylstra, the Council’s president and CEO, in a statement. “Her experience in technology and nonprofit sectors will prove incredibly valuable in helping to promote Arizona’s growing technology ecosystem and the work we do to support it.”

Aric Bopp, the executive director of Economic Development at the Arizona State University Knowledge Enterprise; Hector Garcia, chief technology officer for Unmanned Aerial Systems and Urban Air Mobility Organization at Honeywell; and Michael Curley, partner at Quarles & Brady were each elected to serve a three-year term on the Council’s board. 

Christine Boles, vice president in the Internet of Things Group and general manager of Intel’s Industrial Solutions Division, was named to the Council’s executive committee.

“We are privileged to welcome these outstanding technology executives to our board of directors and executive committee whose expertise will help support Arizona’s status as one of the best states in the country for innovation,” Zylstra said.