Arizona Technology Council wins major awards in Greater Phoenix Chamber IMPACT Awards

Arizona Technology Council logo

Arizona Technology Council was awarded the 2021 IMPACT Business of the Year, as well as the Exceptional Innovator Award in the Small to Medium Business category from the Greater Phoenix Chamber.

The Arizona Technology Council was founded in 2002 and is the major trade association in Arizona for science and technology companies. It’s designed to foster the advancement of technology in Arizona by providing leadership, sponsoring community events and encouraging both legislative and social action. 

Winners were first recognized in the virtual 34th annual IMPACT Awards ceremony held May 13, 2021. The awards are designed to recognize business leaders in four different categories — Arizona Advocate, Community Champion, Economic Driver and Exceptional Innovator. Two awards are given in each category, one for companies with more than 250 employees and one for companies with 250 employees or less. An IMPACT Business of the Year is selected from those categories.

The Council was selected for these awards based on its influence on innovation, public policy and overall economic growth in Arizona. The Council was recognized especially for two major contributions. The first is its quarterly AZ Technology Industry Impact Report, which gives insight into the trends and growth in Arizona’s tech industry. The second is AZTechBase, an online platform launched in 2020 that uses data from the Impact report to provide a listing of companies, people and investors in the ecosystem. 

The Council takes a hands-on approach to public policy, working to educate policymakers on issues from workforce development to clean energy. As a result, its involvement has helped position Arizona as a pro-business, technology-focused state.

Other winners in the same small to medium business category were Arizona PBS as Arizona Advocate, Valley of the Sun United Way as Community Champion and Telgian Holdings, Inc. as Economic Driver. 

Steven G. Zylstra, the Council’s president and CEO, said in a statement: “These awards are a testament to the great work our dedicated staff, board members and community partners are doing to help make Arizona the fastest-growing technology hub in the nation.”