2015 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation announces winners

The Arizona Technology Council and the Arizona Commerce Authority announced the winners for the 2015 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation awards Tuesday.
The awards honors members of Arizona’s technology ecosystem who impact the state’s growing technology community.
“Each year we set aside a day to gather and recognize the tremendous contributions innovators make to strengthen Arizona’s position as a leader in technology,” said Steven G. Zylstra, president and CEO of the Arizona Technology Council. “We’re proud to congratulate this year’s finalists and winners on their exceptional achievements.”
Winners and finalists were picked by a committee of experts separate from the Technology Council.
READ: AZ Tech Council elects four new directors
The Governor’s Celebration of Innovation will be held at Phoenix Convention Center on Thursday, November 12. Tickets can be purchased here.
One company within each of the following award categories will be announced as the winner at the GCOI event:
Innovator of the Year – Start-Up Company

  • Eco 3D, LLC
  • EndoVantage, LLC – A virtual patient treatment planning center. The company participated in Venture Madness and took home $10,000.
  • SinfoníaRx

Innovator of the Year – Small Company

  • CellTrust Corporation – A mobile device security solutions company, recently secured $10.5 million from Kayne Partners to build our their infrastructure and add jobs
  • Digital Air Strike
  • Guardvant, Inc.

Innovator of the Year – Academia

  • Arizona State University, Sanford Inspire Program – ASU recently announced their 21 startups who entered the Fall 2015 Edson cohort. Read more on happenings at ASU here.
  • Tech Launch Arizona – Tech Launch Arizona has been noted for its research in bio tech and helping startups commercialize. Read our coverage of startups coming out of Tucson here.
  • University of Arizona, Virtual e-Hospital (IVeH) Foundation

The Individual/Company Award winners are:

  • William F. McWhortor Community Service Leader of the Year: Thomas Curzon
  • Ed Denison Business Leader of the Year: Alexi Venneri
  • Pioneering: Raytheon Missile Systems – A Tucson-based technology and innovation leader specializing in defense, security and civil markets around the globe was noted as one of the best places to work in Arizona and awarded an $80 million by U.S. Air Force to build defense missiles. Read more coverage of Raytheon here.
  • Judges Award: Arizona State University Biodesign Institute, Zmapp
  • Large Company Award: Medtronic Tempe Campus

The Arizona Technology Council is a trade association for science and technology companies that works toward furthering the advancement of technology in Arizona.
For more local tech coverage, visit our home page.