Two ASU professors awarded fellow status at National Academy of Inventors

Two Arizona State University professors have been named fellows at the National Academy of Inventors, which awarded the honor to 170 people this December. This award further cements them among the top inventors in the country.
The work of Stuart Lindsay, Director of the Center for Single Molecule Biophysics at ASU’s Biodesign Institute, with atomic force microscopy led to the founding of Molecular Imaging Corporation.

stuart lindsay
Stuart Lindsay directs the Center for Single Molecule Biophysics at ASU’s Biodesign institute.

Michael Kozicki directs the Center for Applied Nanoionics and is the inventor of ionic memory, which is intended to replace flash memory. He also holds 48 US patents and 27 international patents.
Related: Drumroll please! Spirit of Enterprise Award winners include IO and I-ology
The NAI is an organization that supports inventors and researchers and promotes patents. Fellows are elected by the selection committee on the basis of their contributions as “academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.”
“Doctors Kozicki and Lindsay exemplify the innovative and entrepreneurial spirit of faculty and researchers at ASU. They have made outstanding contributions to their fields, economic development and society,” says Sethuraman Panchanathan, senior vice president for Knowledge Enterprise Development at ASU. “It is a great honor to have the NAI recognize their innovative and use-inspired work.”
michael kozicki
Michael Kozicki directs the Center for Applied Nanoionics.

Read: Topping the charts again- ASU’s tech transfer arm ranked highly for third year
Lindsay and Kozicki are among 170 people elected as fellows by the NAI. The new fellows will be inducted at a conference in March 2015 at the California Institute of Technology. Fellows will be given a trophy and a pin to honor their achievements, which is pretty rad.
“We are delighted to recognize the 2014 NAI Fellows and their unparalleled commitment to excellence in academic invention,” said NAI President Dr. Paul R. Sanberg. “Their many discoveries have made a truly significant impact on society and we are proud to honor them for these contributions.”
Contributions from NAI and ASU Communication. Photos courtesy of ASU